Dead Gone by T.J. Brearton

Dead Gone by T.J. Brearton is a title from my 2017 NetGalley backlist and, as I listened to the audiobook via Hoopla, qualifies for my 2024 audiobook challenge and my 2024 Library Love challenge.

EXCERPT: MONDAY
Tom was awake when the alarm clock buzzed. He switched it off, stared up at the twirling ceiling fan a moment and then went downstairs.
The sign hanging on the living room wall read: Congratulations, Tom!
He collected a couple of empty beer bottles and stuck them in the recycling bin. The coffee was already brewing, the timer set for six.
He stood in his sweatpants, watching the coffee drip into the pot, considering a half-remembered dream.
Tommy . . . Tommy, help me.
His cell phone rang in the bedroom snapping him out of it. He bounded back up the stairs and grabbed the phone.
‘Lange,’ he answered.
‘Special Agent Lange. Good morning.’ It was Director Turnbull.
‘What can I do for you, sir?’
‘Well, Lange, it looks like day one for you is going to be a big one.’
‘Okay, sir. I’m ready.’
‘Are you familiar with Paddle Creek Tours?’
‘No . . .’ Tom found his notebook next to his badge on the dresser and plucked a pen from the coin dish. He scribbled down Paddle Creek.
‘They do kayaking. Like canoeing, but one person per boat. You know where Rookery Bay is?’
‘Yes, sir.’ Rookery Bay was a nature preserve, a large mangrove estuary fed by the Gulf of Mexico.
‘Okay. Good.’ Turnbull said. ‘Shell Island Road. You drive past the research reserve headquarters. Down half a mile on the right is where you want to be. Special Agent Blythe will meet you there.’
‘Blythe, sir?’ He wrote that name down too.
‘Yes, she’s who you’re sharing the field office with, you’ll be taking your cues from her.’ Turnbull paused. Tom heard police radio chatter in the background. Whatever was going on, it sounded big. ‘A body was found in the bay. Everglades Counties Sherriff’s Office is already there. Check in with Blythe, I’ll speak with you later. Good luck.’

ABOUT ‘DEAD GONE’: A woman’s body is found floating in a sultry Florida mangrove. She has no ID and there is no indication of cause of death.

Who is she? Why was she murdered?

Rookie detective Tom Lange couldn’t have got a more difficult first case. The only thing he’s got to go on is the woman’s butterfly tattoo. His boss, Lauren Blythe, piles the pressure on and the medical examiner won’t tell him what he needs to know.

Meanwhile Tom’s neighbour Alicia has an abusive boyfriend who Tom clashes with in a way that will have far-reaching consequences.

The body leads Tom on a trail of seedy clubs, narcotics, and danger which is close to home.

In a tumultuous ending with a massive twist, Tom’s world is turned upside down.

MY THOUGHTS: I mostly liked the plot of this book, but the execution let it down for me. It dulled down what could have been a thrilling story. There is little excitement and even less tension to keep the reader engaged and the characters don’t have a lot of depth. We get background on Tom and his brother Nick, but not the little details that make the characters realistic and relatable.

There are a couple of plot points that don’t make much sense, such as one character who had to relinquish his vehicle to pay off a debt, but can afford to hire a car. 🤷‍♀️

The writing was quite stilted, and nothing felt real to me. I wasn’t drawn into the story and didn’t form any feelings for the characters. However, this is the first book in a new series, so hopefully the writing and the characterisation will improve.

⭐⭐.5

#DeadGone #NetGalley

THE AUTHOR: Timothy James Brearton lives in the Adirondack Mountains with his wife and three children. He’s loved thrillers and police stories for most of his life.

DISCLOSURE: Thank you to Joffe Books via NetGalley for providing a digital ARC of Dead Gone by T.J. Brearton for review. All opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own personal opinions.

Author: sandysbookaday

I love good quality chocolate. I love the ocean and love to be in, on or beside it. I read any and every where. I am a proud mum and Nana. I like wine, gin, Southern Comfort, a cold Heineken on a hot day. I am very versatile like that. I cross stitch, do jigsaws, garden, and work on a farm. I am an occasional scribbler. I have far too many books I want to read to ever find the time to die. I am an active member of Goodreads as Sandy *the world could end while I was reading and I would never notice* and review on Amazon under the name Sandyj21. My Goodreads reviews are automatically linked to my Facebook page. Groups I belong to and participate in on Goodreads include: The Mystery, Crime and Thriller Group; Mysteries and Crime Thrillers; Psychological Thrillers; Reading for Pleasure; Crime Detective Mystery Thrillers; English Mysteries; Dead Good Crime; Kindle English Mystery, All About Books and NZ Readers. April 2016 I made the Top 1% of Goodreads reviewers (As follows) Hello Sandy *The world could end while I was reading and I would never notice*, In our community of readers, you stand out in a notable way: You're one of the top 1% of reviewers on Goodreads! With every rave and every pan, with every excited GIF and every critical assessment, you've helped the Goodreads community get closer to a very important milestone – the 50 Million Reviews mark!

4 thoughts on “Dead Gone by T.J. Brearton”

Leave a comment