The Intruders by Louise Jensen

EXCERPT: I’ve identified sounds, taste, touch and smells but now there’s something else.
A feeling.
A slow crawl of trepidation from the tips of my toes to the top of my scalp.
I stop abruptly. ‘James,’ my tone is urgent now, ‘I don’t like this anymore . . .’
‘Relax Cass. We’re here.’
He fumbles to untie the blindfold and then I’m blinking in the unaccustomed brightness. Curved around me is a horseshoe shaped manor house. With its wings stretching either side of me I feel like the house is holding me.
Gripping me.
Despite the low temperature a flush of heat rushes through me. I push up the sleeves of my jumper. Stepping back, my eyes scan the black and white Tudor timberwork above the entrance. The iron ‘Newington House’ sign blistered with rust.
Ivy clings to the stone building. There’s a sense of someone watching me through the small leaded windows.
This is not a tourist attraction. That much is clear from the unkempt courtyard. The tangle of weeds and nettles.
A crow lands in the tree to my left; he screeches, and it sounds like a warning.

ABOUT ‘THE INTRUDERS’: They were told to leave. They should have listened.

It should be the perfect opportunity: a manor house available rent free in exchange for a bit of housesitting. But when Cass and James dig deeper, they find the place has been abandoned since a robbery left almost all the inhabitants dead almost thirty years ago. But they’ve got to save for a deposit somehow, so they move in, and things quickly take a strange turn. Objects disappear and turn up in odd places, the clock always stops at the same time, and the house is oppressive yet strangely familiar. Could it just be bad memories, or are the house’s secrets a little closer to home?

MY THOUGHTS: There’s no such thing as a free lunch – or, in this case, a free house.

The Intruders by Louise Jensen will put your spidey senses on high alert. There’s an insidious creepiness to the storyline. Nothing major, or over the top, just little unexplained things. Things that eat into Cass’s mind, but that James seems able to explain away. Logically. Calmly. The sounds of children playing. Singing. The smell of freshly cut lemons. The hairbrush that won’t stay in the drawer. A window that opens itself. The clock that stops every day at 8.30 p.m. . . . .

I don’t blame Cass for feeling spooked. Especially when James has to go away on business. And Cass has had problems in the past – a little mental disturbance, or two.

The story is told over two timelines – now and thirty years ago when the Madley family lived, and was murdered, in Newington House. Louise Jensen cleverly manipulates the storyline – I had no idea where she was taking me but was quite happy to go along for the ride – and throws in a few stunning twists. She creates a chilling atmosphere with a palpable air of mystery surrounding all the characters.

And the ending? – Twisted. You’ll need to suspend your belief. It is disturbing but strangely fitting.

I listened to the audiobook of The Intruders which was superbly narrated by Helen Keeley.

And don’t skip the author’s note at the end where she relates how this book came about.

⭐⭐⭐⭐.3

#TheIntruders #NetGalley

THE AUTHOR: When I was little I was obsessed by Enid Blyton. Her characters were so real to me they became my friends. I often huddled under my covers, stifling my yawns and straining my eyes, as I read ‘just one more page’ by torchlight.

Mr Townsend, my primary school English teacher always encouraged my love of literature, and it wasn’t long before I’d read everything my school had to offer. The first book I created was six pages long, had stick-man illustrations and was sellotaped together. I was immensely proud of it. Writing was a huge part of my life, until one day it wasn’t.

I can’t remember ever making a conscious decision to stop writing but it became easier to act on the advice I was given – ‘grow up and get a proper job’ – and my dreams were tightly packed away, gathering dust for the next twenty years.

My thirties were a car crash. Literally. I sustained injuries which when coupled with a pre-existing condition forced me to radically change my lifestyle. I felt utterly lost and utterly alone. Always an avid reader I began to devour books at an alarming rate. ‘You’ll have read every book in here soon,’ my local librarian said. ‘You’ll have to write your own.’

And there was a flicker, a shift, a rising of hope. I grasped that nugget of possibility and I wrote. I wrote when I was happy. I wrote when I was sad. I wrote when I was scared and in-between writing, I read, read and read some more. Words have the power to lift, to heal. They have illuminated my world, which for a time became very dark.

As Anne Frank said ‘I can shake off everything as I write; my sorrows disappear, my courage is reborn.’

DISCLOSURE: Thank you to Harper Collins UK Audio, HQ via NetGalley for providing a digital ARC of The Intruders written by Louise Jensen and narrated by Helen Keeley. All opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own personal opinions.

Author: sandysbookaday

I love good quality chocolate. I love the ocean and love to be in, on or beside it. I read any and every where. I am a proud mum and Nana. I like wine, gin, Southern Comfort, a cold Heineken on a hot day. I am very versatile like that. I cross stitch, do jigsaws, garden, and work on a farm. I am an occasional scribbler. I have far too many books I want to read to ever find the time to die. I am an active member of Goodreads as Sandy *the world could end while I was reading and I would never notice* and review on Amazon under the name Sandyj21. My Goodreads reviews are automatically linked to my Facebook page. Groups I belong to and participate in on Goodreads include: The Mystery, Crime and Thriller Group; Mysteries and Crime Thrillers; Psychological Thrillers; Reading for Pleasure; Crime Detective Mystery Thrillers; English Mysteries; Dead Good Crime; Kindle English Mystery, All About Books and NZ Readers. April 2016 I made the Top 1% of Goodreads reviewers (As follows) Hello Sandy *The world could end while I was reading and I would never notice*, In our community of readers, you stand out in a notable way: You're one of the top 1% of reviewers on Goodreads! With every rave and every pan, with every excited GIF and every critical assessment, you've helped the Goodreads community get closer to a very important milestone – the 50 Million Reviews mark!

10 thoughts on “The Intruders by Louise Jensen”

  1. I can so relate to the author, I loved reading Enid Blyton books growing up and they’re a big reason why I got into writing and fell in love with reading. The books sounds scary in the best way possible and I love a twisted ending. Just got it on Kindle and excited to start reading it 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This sounds very creepy, Sandy. I have been pending for this one for quite awhile, and it is being archived tomorrow, so I doubt I will get it. It is not at my library at this point, so I will have to wait and see. Excellent review and excerpt. 💞📚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment