The Bookshop on Jacaranda Street by Marlish Glorie

EXCERPT: Armed with an arsenal of cleaning products, cloths, buckets ladder and tools, Helen went at the old building with the relentless force of a prosecution lawyer hammering a witness under cross-examination. The grubby bookshop’s defence was meagre and came to pieces under Helen’s scrutiny, surrendering up its filth to her tireless hands.

The irony that she had left one dump to land in another did not escape her. But this time she was free to do as she pleased; for once, junk was subordinate to her. And she didn’t want Vivian’s help; she wanted this job, she’d earned the right to throw out whatever and however she pleased.

ABOUT ‘THE BOOKSHOP ON JACARANDA STREET’: Helen can’t sleep. Her husband’s hoarding tendencies have taken over not only their house, but their marriage too, and she needs out. In a moment of desperation, Helen burns her bed, and leaves. Seeking to rediscover herself, she rather spontaneously seizes the opportunity to buy a run-down secondhand bookstore. But when her two adult sons unexpectedly return home with their own problems, Helen’s attempt to turn her life into something out of a literary novel starts to look like more of a comedy of errors. As quirky characters browse the shelves of The Book Maze, and relationships are put to the test, Helen fights to write her own happy ending to her story.

MY THOUGHTS: The Bookshop on Jacaranda Street is the book that ended my reading slump. I loved this Australian family drama which begins with Helen chopping up and setting on fire the bed she cannot sleep on, dragged home from some deceased estate by her husband Arnold who has become an inveterate hoarder.

Helen is rather judgmental. She judges books by their cover, people by their appearance. She’s probably not the best person to own a second-hand bookstore, especially when she believes that anyone who doesn’t read classics is ill-educated. Thank goodness for Vivian her younger son who, although he suffers from depression, has a far more realistic grip on what customers want.

There are some wonderful characters; not the least is Razoo who is illiterate but owns a second-hand book warehouse.

This story is quirky, poignant, entertaining and utterly charming. Once started, I only put it down when I went to sleep, and then not voluntarily. Marlish Glorie tells a story of love and loss, of the harm of long-term hoarding, of grieving and the bonds of a very dysfunctional family.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

#TheBookshoponJacarandaStreet @FremantlePress

THE AUTHOR: Marlish Glorie is a novelist, short-story writer, mentor and teacher of creative writing. Marlish loves in Perth, Western Australia with her husband Lindsay.

DISCLOSURE: Thank you to Fremantle Press for providing a copy of The Bookshop on Jacaranda Street for review. All opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own personal opinions.

Author: sandysbookaday

I love good quality chocolate. I love the ocean and love to be in, on or beside it. I read any and every where. I am a proud mum and Nana. I like wine, gin, Southern Comfort, a cold Heineken on a hot day. I am very versatile like that. I cross stitch, do jigsaws, garden, and work on a farm. I am an occasional scribbler. I have far too many books I want to read to ever find the time to die. I am an active member of Goodreads as Sandy *the world could end while I was reading and I would never notice* and review on Amazon under the name Sandyj21. My Goodreads reviews are automatically linked to my Facebook page. Groups I belong to and participate in on Goodreads include: The Mystery, Crime and Thriller Group; Mysteries and Crime Thrillers; Psychological Thrillers; Reading for Pleasure; Crime Detective Mystery Thrillers; English Mysteries; Dead Good Crime; Kindle English Mystery, All About Books and NZ Readers. April 2016 I made the Top 1% of Goodreads reviewers (As follows) Hello Sandy *The world could end while I was reading and I would never notice*, In our community of readers, you stand out in a notable way: You're one of the top 1% of reviewers on Goodreads! With every rave and every pan, with every excited GIF and every critical assessment, you've helped the Goodreads community get closer to a very important milestone – the 50 Million Reviews mark!

16 thoughts on “The Bookshop on Jacaranda Street by Marlish Glorie”

  1. Sandy, you’re an angel! thank you so much for your kind words. They mean a great deal to me. They’re encouraging and uplifting and they come just at the right time, when I’m struggling to finish my newest novel.  Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds a lovely and uplifting read (though I will confess for a moment I wondered if her husband was on the bed when she set fire to it–half thinking of a thriller); just the name Jacaranda throws up such lovely images. Must look this up. Wonderful review Sandy and so glad this pulled you out of a reading slump!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wonderful review, Sandy. I love a book that can get someone out of their slumps. I was able to find an ebook on Hoopla, so it is on my list. Helen sounds like a person that needs a real shake up. I also love quirky characters, so am looking forward to this one. 😃💖📚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment