First Lines Friday

Photo by cottonbro studio on Pexels.com

Welcome to First Lines Friday originally hosted by Reading is my Superpower.

Instead of judging a book by its cover, here are the first few lines which I hope will make you want to read this book.

These lines are from a book I am starting today. It was originally published in 2009, with a new edition released in 2023. Thank you to @FremantlePress for providing a copy to read for review.

<i>Shortly after five in the morning Helen Budd-Doyle chopped her bed to smithereens, manufacturing a million toothpicks, sufficient kindling for a week, pulp enough to make sixty rolls of toilet paper, and a thick layer of mulch for a garden bed – how ironic was that, she thought. Her bed could be all these things, yet could not provide her with one decent night of sleep.</i>

Do you like what you’ve just read?

Does it make you want to read more?

These are the opening lines of The Bookshop on Jacaranda Street by Marlish Glorie.

With her marriage crumbling, Helen is desperately looking for an escape. So when she stumbles on a second-hand book shop in need of a new owner, she sees an opportunity to start a new chapter.

But running a bookshop isn’t easy, and Helen soon realises that by dodging one problem, she may have just created a whole lot more.

Author: sandysbookaday

I love good quality chocolate. I love the ocean and love to be in, on or beside it. I read any and every where. I am a proud mum and Nana. I like wine, gin, Southern Comfort, a cold Heineken on a hot day. I am very versatile like that. I cross stitch, do jigsaws, garden, and work on a farm. I am an occasional scribbler. I have far too many books I want to read to ever find the time to die. I am an active member of Goodreads as Sandy *the world could end while I was reading and I would never notice* and review on Amazon under the name Sandyj21. My Goodreads reviews are automatically linked to my Facebook page. Groups I belong to and participate in on Goodreads include: The Mystery, Crime and Thriller Group; Mysteries and Crime Thrillers; Psychological Thrillers; Reading for Pleasure; Crime Detective Mystery Thrillers; English Mysteries; Dead Good Crime; Kindle English Mystery, All About Books and NZ Readers. April 2016 I made the Top 1% of Goodreads reviewers (As follows) Hello Sandy *The world could end while I was reading and I would never notice*, In our community of readers, you stand out in a notable way: You're one of the top 1% of reviewers on Goodreads! With every rave and every pan, with every excited GIF and every critical assessment, you've helped the Goodreads community get closer to a very important milestone – the 50 Million Reviews mark!

14 thoughts on “First Lines Friday”

Leave a comment