Stuck in the Muck by Brett Avison, illustrated by Craig Smith

EXCERPT: This cow was a pet
Who hated the wet
She was happy inside chewing cud
No one could explain
Why she went in the rain-
And got herself stuck in the mud.

ABOUT ‘STUCK IN THE MUCK’: On Mum and Ted’s farm there’s a very large barn, where Milky the cow was a pet. But no one could guess how she got herself stuck in the mud on a rain sodden night.

Join Bryn, Oscar and a parade of machines – and broken gear – as they help Milky out of the muck.

MY THOUGHTS: Luke loved A Bigger Digger by the same author and illustrator, and had been wanting this book for some time. He came to work with me for a few hours on Monday and I told him that if he was very, very good while I did my work that his pay for helping me would be this book. He was extremely good and really deserved his ‘pay.’

There’s lots of machinery involved in rescuing Milky from the muck – a quad bike, a ute, a truck, a bulldozer, a fire engine, a crane, and a helicopter.

Stuck in the Muck is lighthearted, amusing and beautifully illustrated. There is so much to see and discuss in each illustration which adds to the whole reading experience.

While I don’t like this quite as much as A Bigger Digger, Luke absolutely loves it, and whatever makes him happy, makes me happy.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

THE AUTHOR: Writing a book is a bit like giving birth, the Havelock children’s author says. Brett says he often lets ideas foment for a while before writing. While the writing process itself is fairly quick, editing and revising his stories takes a lot longer.

DISCLOSURE: Luke owns his copy of Stuck in the Muck by Brett Avison and illustrated by Craig Smith, published by Plus One. All opinions expressed in this review are entirely Luke’s.

For an explanation of my rating system please refer to my Goodreads.com profile page or the about page on sandysbookaday.wordpress.com

This review and others are also published on Twitter, Instagram, and Goodreads.com

Author: sandysbookaday

I love good quality chocolate. I love the ocean and love to be in, on or beside it. I read any and every where. I am a proud mum and Nana. I like wine, gin, Southern Comfort, a cold Heineken on a hot day. I am very versatile like that. I cross stitch, do jigsaws, garden, and work on a farm. I am an occasional scribbler. I have far too many books I want to read to ever find the time to die. I am an active member of Goodreads as Sandy *the world could end while I was reading and I would never notice* and review on Amazon under the name Sandyj21. My Goodreads reviews are automatically linked to my Facebook page. Groups I belong to and participate in on Goodreads include: The Mystery, Crime and Thriller Group; Mysteries and Crime Thrillers; Psychological Thrillers; Reading for Pleasure; Crime Detective Mystery Thrillers; English Mysteries; Dead Good Crime; Kindle English Mystery, All About Books and NZ Readers. April 2016 I made the Top 1% of Goodreads reviewers (As follows) Hello Sandy *The world could end while I was reading and I would never notice*, In our community of readers, you stand out in a notable way: You're one of the top 1% of reviewers on Goodreads! With every rave and every pan, with every excited GIF and every critical assessment, you've helped the Goodreads community get closer to a very important milestone – the 50 Million Reviews mark!

4 thoughts on “Stuck in the Muck by Brett Avison, illustrated by Craig Smith”

Leave a comment