The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles by Julie Andrews Edwards

The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles by Julie Andrews Edwards
The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles
by Julie Andrews Edwards

Reviewed by


EXCERPT: ‘I assure you that the Wangdoodle exists,’ said the man. ‘Look it up in your dictionary when you get home. ‘
‘What does it look like?’ asked Lindy.
‘That’s rather hard to describe. It’s a little like a moose – or a horse, perhaps. But with fantastic horns. And I believe it has rather short legs.’
‘Where does it live?’ enquired Tom.
‘Oh,far, far away……’

THE BLURB: The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles was the second children’s novel ever written by Julie Andrews, the beloved star of Mary Poppins and The Sound of Music. Perfect for young readers who love whimsical stories about magic!

The Whangdoodle was once the wisest, the kindest, and the most extraordinary creature in the world. Then he disappeared and created a wonderful land for himself and all the other remarkable animals—the ten-legged Sidewinders, the little furry Flukes, the friendly Whiffle Bird, and the treacherous, “oily” Prock. It was an almost perfect place where the last of the really great Whangdoodles could rule his kingdom with “peace, love and a sense of fun”—apart from and forgotten by people.

But not completely forgotten. Professor Savant believed in the Whangdoodle. And when he told the three Potter children of his search for the spectacular creature, Lindy, Tom, and Ben were eager to reach Whangdoodleland.

With the Professor’s help, they discovered the secret way. But waiting for them was the scheming Prock, who would use almost any means to keep them away from his beloved king. Only by skill and determination were the four travelers able to discover the last of the really great Whangdoodles and grant him his heart’s desire.

MY THOUGHTS: All the times I read The Last of the Really Great Wangdoodles by Julie Edwards to and with my sons, and I never realized that the author was Julie Andrews!

She must have had an enormous amount of fun writing this book, because it is a fun read, but with a more serious undertone – genetics and cloning.

But the greatest thing about the book is that it is magical, not in a Harry Potter kind of way, but in its innocence. This book would never get written or published today. A group of children going off with a strange man they met at the zoo and doing things in his house that they can’t tell their parents about?!

And it is a pity. Because this is a wonderful book. And I was so glad to find it, prized and loved on my son’s bookshelves to be read to and with his boys.

Truly a book for all ages. If you never got to read it as a child, read it as an adult. We all need a little magic and wonder in our lives.

A big Thank You to Brenda, who worked for me many moons ago when my now adult sons were small, and who bought this book for them. It has been treasured and always will be.

Author: sandysbookaday

I love good quality chocolate. I love the ocean and love to be in, on or beside it. I read any and every where. I am a proud mum and Nana. I like wine, gin, Southern Comfort, a cold Heineken on a hot day. I am very versatile like that. I cross stitch, do jigsaws, garden, and work on a farm. I am an occasional scribbler. I have far too many books I want to read to ever find the time to die. I am an active member of Goodreads as Sandy *the world could end while I was reading and I would never notice* and review on Amazon under the name Sandyj21. My Goodreads reviews are automatically linked to my Facebook page. Groups I belong to and participate in on Goodreads include: The Mystery, Crime and Thriller Group; Mysteries and Crime Thrillers; Psychological Thrillers; Reading for Pleasure; Crime Detective Mystery Thrillers; English Mysteries; Dead Good Crime; Kindle English Mystery, All About Books and NZ Readers. April 2016 I made the Top 1% of Goodreads reviewers (As follows) Hello Sandy *The world could end while I was reading and I would never notice*, In our community of readers, you stand out in a notable way: You're one of the top 1% of reviewers on Goodreads! With every rave and every pan, with every excited GIF and every critical assessment, you've helped the Goodreads community get closer to a very important milestone – the 50 Million Reviews mark!

Leave a comment