A New Dawn at Owl’s Lodge by Jessica Redland

EXCERPT: Harrison cocked his head to one side and studied my face. ‘You love him, don’t you?’
My mouth dropped open. Where had that come from? Was Snowy a single dad and his son was trying to matchmake for him?
‘Your dad?’ I said, my voice a little high. ‘I’ve only just met him. We’ve barely said five -‘
‘Not my dad!’ Harrison cried, his shoulders shaking with laughter. ‘I meant the tawny owl. You love him.’
I could hear Samantha’s giggles as she got into the vehicle.
‘Yes, I love the tawny owl,’ I said, relieved to clear up that misunderstanding. ‘He took one look at me and captured my heart.’ I made a heart shape with my fingers to show him and he smiled and copied me.
‘Owls do that. Got to go and help Dad. See ya!’
And he ran off back to The Owlery.

ABOUT ‘ A NEW DAWN AT OWL’S LODGE’: Could one chance meeting change your life forever?

Zara is at a crossroads in life. While she adores her job as a producer’s assistant working on hit TV shows, travelling around the country means she doesn’t truly feel that she has a home. With a fractured relationship with her family and unrequited love weighing heavily on her heart, she is torn about what her next step in life should be…

Snowy is hiding from the world. He’s devoted his life to home schooling his young son and caring for sick owls at his home, Owl’s Lodge, deep in the Yorkshire Wolds countryside. While he’s passionate about both, it’s a lonely existence and he’s starting to question his decisions. But how do you step back into a world you’ve pushed away for years…?

When Zara brings an injured owl to Owl’s Lodge, its frosty, reclusive owner is far from welcoming. Despite hostilities, there’s a connection that neither could ever have prepared themselves for. As they discover a shared passion, a new friendship blossoms, but both Zara and Snowy are used to shutting people out.

Can they both find the courage to open up and the strength to move on from their pasts? And what could this mean for their future happiness?

MY THOUGHTS: This is the first of Jessica Redland’s books that I have dragged my feet over – it took me six days to read. Her books are usually a twenty-four-hour read for me. There were a few too many themes going on here and I got bogged down in the technicalities. I felt that I was being lectured to about alcoholism. I know it is an important and pertinent topic, but not one I want to find in a ‘feelgood’ read. There were a few too many facts about owls (love them as I do) and gymnastics. The thread about the way Roman and Zara were raised, and their needs prioritised, was a good one, and that with Snowy’s backstory would have been enough for me. The remainder of the threads were overkill. It just didn’t need to be that complicated.

Having said that the main story of Zara and Snowy’s romance is a lovely one. I liked that they became friends first, and that their relationship moved slowly on from there. Harrison is a delightful child and was responsible for more than a few laughs. Eddie, Snowy’s grandfather is also a remarkable character – a bit like an owl really – wise and lovable.

There is one theme I absolutely loved in this book, the ‘just be the bear theme. It is magnificent. No explanation from me other than we don’t do it enough – just read the book.

There are some very moving scenes – one of my favorites was Snowy watching a barn owl in flight – and heart-warming moments. But overall I didn’t get that warm fuzzy feelgood feeling I had experienced with this author’s other books.

⭐⭐⭐

#ANewDawnatOwlsLodge #NetGalley

THE AUTHOR: I was born in Teesside but now live in Scarborough on the stunning North Yorkshire Coast. I live with my husband, our teenage daughter and sprocker spaniel, Ella. I’m a self-confessed stationery addict with a ridiculously large collection of notepads who loves chocolate (although it doesn’t love me), hedgehogs, 80s music, collectible teddy bears and lighthouses.

DISCLSOURE: Thank you to Boldwood Books via NetGalley for providing a digital ARC of A New Dawn at Owl’s Lodge by Jessica Redland for review. All opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own personal opinions.

Author: sandysbookaday

I love good quality chocolate. I love the ocean and love to be in, on or beside it. I read any and every where. I am a proud mum and Nana. I like wine, gin, Southern Comfort, a cold Heineken on a hot day. I am very versatile like that. I cross stitch, do jigsaws, garden, and work on a farm. I am an occasional scribbler. I have far too many books I want to read to ever find the time to die. I am an active member of Goodreads as Sandy *the world could end while I was reading and I would never notice* and review on Amazon under the name Sandyj21. My Goodreads reviews are automatically linked to my Facebook page. Groups I belong to and participate in on Goodreads include: The Mystery, Crime and Thriller Group; Mysteries and Crime Thrillers; Psychological Thrillers; Reading for Pleasure; Crime Detective Mystery Thrillers; English Mysteries; Dead Good Crime; Kindle English Mystery, All About Books and NZ Readers. April 2016 I made the Top 1% of Goodreads reviewers (As follows) Hello Sandy *The world could end while I was reading and I would never notice*, In our community of readers, you stand out in a notable way: You're one of the top 1% of reviewers on Goodreads! With every rave and every pan, with every excited GIF and every critical assessment, you've helped the Goodreads community get closer to a very important milestone – the 50 Million Reviews mark!

10 thoughts on “A New Dawn at Owl’s Lodge by Jessica Redland”

  1. Excellent and well written review, Sandy. I agree, there were a lot of heavy themes and her newer books seem to be getting more complicated. I did enjoy it though, especially “Be The Bear”. 📚💕😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment