The Doctor’s Widow (The Doctor’s Wife #2) by Daniel Hurst

EXCERPT: The police really thought they had me when they kicked down my door and burst into my home.
They burst through the new door that belonged to the expensive house that I’d only just bought. When I settled the estate agent’s fees and accepted the keys, I had no idea that the beautiful property that I had purchased would soon be swarming with police officers.
But it was.
Dozens of men and women, all of them in black and white uniforms, and all of them eager to wrap my wrists in handcuffs and march me outside to one of the waiting vehicles, while my new neighbours stopped and stared at the unsavory scene happening right in front of them in their quiet street in an affluent suburb.
That was their plan, anyway. But, as has been the case for a while now, the police’s plan has always differed greatly from my own.

ABOUT ‘THE DOCTOR’S WIDOW’: I loved my husband, Doctor Drew Devlin, but he betrayed me. And now he’s dead.

As I put the key in the lock and open the door to the luxurious new home I’ve purchased with Drew’s life insurance money, I’m certain the worst days are behind me. My secret is safe, and I can’t wait to enjoy my new wealth and freedom.

Then I meet handsome Roger. I wasn’t looking for a relationship but as we spend our evenings drinking wine on my sunny terrace, I realise he’s just what I need right now. Roger is nothing like Drew, he’s spontaneous and romantic. And most of all, he’s honest.

He thinks I’m a rich, lonely woman. He’s wrong of course, there’s so much more to me…

But then one night, when we’re curled up in bed together, Roger says something that makes my blood run cold. I think he knows the truth about my life as the doctor’s wife.

I will do anything to stop my past from catching up with me… But is Roger really who he says he is? Or is my life now in danger?

MY THOUGHTS: Daniel Hurst writes entertaining books and the follow-up to The Doctor’s Wife, The Doctor’s Widow, is no exception. I will point out here, before you read any further, that you really do need to have read The Doctor’s Wife before you read this, the second book in the series. Is there going to be a third? I would think so, and the ending here seems to indicate that there will be.

Fun, entertaining, and with unexpected twists, The Doctor’s Widow is a fast and easy read/listen. Told from the points of view of Fern, Alice, Greg/Roger, and occasionally the detective on the case, this story has it all! Fern can appear to be quite normal at times, but underneath she is scheming and manipulative. She is going to let no one, and nothing, stand in her way of living the good life now that she has successfully disposed of her cheating husband Doctor Drew Devlin. She has everyone feeling sorry for her. What they should be doing is feeling scared of her!

This is one crazy read! Okay, I admit I rolled my eyes a couple of times as it’s not always believable, but it is always fun.

I read and listened to The Doctor’s Widow, narrated by Sarah Durham and Luke R Francis. While each narrated two characters, they didn’t have a great tonal range, and Sarah’s rendition of the male voices left a lot to be desired. It would make more sense if Sarah narrated the female characters and Luke the male.

⭐⭐⭐.6

#TheDoctorsWidow #NetGalley

I: @danielhurstbooks @bookouture

T: @dhurstbooks @Bookouture

THE AUTHOR: Writer/wanderer.

DISCLOSURE: Thank you to Bookouture via NetGalley for providing both an audio and digital ARC of The Doctor’s Widow, written by Daniel Hurst and narrated by Sarah Durham and Luke R Francis, for review. All opinions expressed in the review are entirely my own personal opinions.

Author: sandysbookaday

I love good quality chocolate. I love the ocean and love to be in, on or beside it. I read any and every where. I am a proud mum and Nana. I like wine, gin, Southern Comfort, a cold Heineken on a hot day. I am very versatile like that. I cross stitch, do jigsaws, garden, and work on a farm. I am an occasional scribbler. I have far too many books I want to read to ever find the time to die. I am an active member of Goodreads as Sandy *the world could end while I was reading and I would never notice* and review on Amazon under the name Sandyj21. My Goodreads reviews are automatically linked to my Facebook page. Groups I belong to and participate in on Goodreads include: The Mystery, Crime and Thriller Group; Mysteries and Crime Thrillers; Psychological Thrillers; Reading for Pleasure; Crime Detective Mystery Thrillers; English Mysteries; Dead Good Crime; Kindle English Mystery, All About Books and NZ Readers. April 2016 I made the Top 1% of Goodreads reviewers (As follows) Hello Sandy *The world could end while I was reading and I would never notice*, In our community of readers, you stand out in a notable way: You're one of the top 1% of reviewers on Goodreads! With every rave and every pan, with every excited GIF and every critical assessment, you've helped the Goodreads community get closer to a very important milestone – the 50 Million Reviews mark!

4 thoughts on “The Doctor’s Widow (The Doctor’s Wife #2) by Daniel Hurst”

Leave a comment