Watching what I’m reading . . .

Sunday afternoon; the fire is lit, the day wet and gloomy. We are stretched out in our chairs watching the supercar racing from Townsville, Queensland, where the skies are gloriously blue and everyone is wandering about in t-shirts and sunglasses.

This morning I started Old Friends Reunited by Maddie Please, and I can’t put it down. I have abandoned my other reads in favour of this.

I am also reading We All Have Our Secrets by Jane Corry

And listening to Death of a Green-Eyed Monster (Hamish Macbeth #34) by M.C. Beaton and R.W. Green

In the coming week I have three books to read for review, two of which I have already started. They are:

We All Have Our Secrets by Jane Corry

Emily made a mistake, a mistake midwifes can’t afford to make. Escaping to her dad’s home in Devon to regroup and check in on him – his dementia has been worsening, and her guilt along with it – she is surprised when a beautiful stranger answers the door. Francoise is her dad’s new carer, but Emily’s father seems to have deteriorated under her care.

Emily doesn’t trust Francoise – but she doesn’t trust herself either. Each has a secret. And one of them will kill to keep it.

Rejected Goddesses by Natalie Watson and Nina Holmes

“Every woman is a rejected goddess at some point in her life … but it’s okay to be rejected as long as you feel like a Goddess.”— Robyn Ryan and Cat Romano.

I’m Robyn Ryan.
I’m thirtyish and I’m a third-generation caffeinated Irish. I’m a journalist turned baker on the verge of bankruptcy. I’m a mommy to a dog with a huge attitude.
My personal life sucks.

I’m Catarina Romano, shortly Cat.
I’m thirtyish and I’m a third-generation fiery-tempered Italian with a nuclear explosive and overprotective family.
I’m a notorious male-basher. No wonder I’m single.
I’m also an author of the worstseller “Italian Connections.”

We are two best friends in a temporary rut of our lives in Mystic Oak, MA.

Can our ginormous dreams come true in the smallest town on earth? 

And Old Friends Reunited by Maddie Please

Divorced and on a deadline, bestselling novelist Bea Pinkerton has a serious case of writer’s block. With her agent breathing down her neck, Bea will do ANYTHING to avoid writing another word.

So an invite to a reunion with her old school friends at a beautiful chateau in France, is Bea’s perfect chance to escape. Surely here, relaxing with old friends and drinking cold fizz, Bea will find inspiration?
But as soon as Bea arrives, she realises this is not going to be the peaceful getaway she anticipated. Her old school friends Gin and Audrie are in various states of marital distress and to top it off a camera crew has arrived to film the goings on at Chateau De St Cyr. Far from being calm, the trip is total chaos!

Thank goodness for Bea’s new French neighbour Laurent Sinclair – handsome, charming and perhaps exactly the romantic muse she needs to get her mojo back. But is Bea brave enough to take a second chance at love at her age? Perhaps with a little help from her friends… 

Only two new ARCs this week. They are:

The Missing by Lisa Childs

and The Sandcastle Hurricane by Carolyn Brown

I am picking Luke up on Tuesday and bringing him home to stay for a few days. It’s the first week of the school holidays and the forecast for the whole week is rain, rain and more rain! If it does clear up we will visit the Kiwi House. I’m planning on taking him to the library Wednesday where we will borrow as many books and jigsaws as we can.

We are currently having a Covid resurgence here in New Zealand so I have stocked up on a few treats for him as I really don’t want to be taking him out shopping.

Happy reading my friends ❤📚

Author: sandysbookaday

I love good quality chocolate. I love the ocean and love to be in, on or beside it. I read any and every where. I am a proud mum and Nana. I like wine, gin, Southern Comfort, a cold Heineken on a hot day. I am very versatile like that. I cross stitch, do jigsaws, garden, and work on a farm. I am an occasional scribbler. I have far too many books I want to read to ever find the time to die. I am an active member of Goodreads as Sandy *the world could end while I was reading and I would never notice* and review on Amazon under the name Sandyj21. My Goodreads reviews are automatically linked to my Facebook page. Groups I belong to and participate in on Goodreads include: The Mystery, Crime and Thriller Group; Mysteries and Crime Thrillers; Psychological Thrillers; Reading for Pleasure; Crime Detective Mystery Thrillers; English Mysteries; Dead Good Crime; Kindle English Mystery, All About Books and NZ Readers. April 2016 I made the Top 1% of Goodreads reviewers (As follows) Hello Sandy *The world could end while I was reading and I would never notice*, In our community of readers, you stand out in a notable way: You're one of the top 1% of reviewers on Goodreads! With every rave and every pan, with every excited GIF and every critical assessment, you've helped the Goodreads community get closer to a very important milestone – the 50 Million Reviews mark!

14 thoughts on “Watching what I’m reading . . .”

  1. I’m moving Old Friends Reunited up the TBR mountain. Cute haul Sandy!😲 I hope you have a lovely time with Luke and that covid doesn’t find any of you! Have a wonderful week my friend!🤗📚☕🌻❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Old Friends Reunited was a five star read for me, Susan. I am taking Luke to his swimming lesson tomorrow before I bring him home, then have to have him back in time for his soccer game on Saturday. What happened to the days when everything stopped for the school holidays?❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Never heard of Maddie Please, will have to look her up. Yes Sunday was a fire day for sure. This morning I have just been watching the Irish/Black Caps highlights of the one dayer, and envying the sunny weather in Dublin!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This was my first read by Maggie Please, Kathryn. Both her previous books are checked out at the library so I have placed a reservation on both. I keep thinking that despite the wet weather, it’s unseasonably warm for this time of the year.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I will have to move the Maddie Please book up Mount TBR, so glad to hear it is a good one. I hope you enjoy your time with Luke, Sandy. I am so tired of covid, but still take all the precautions necessary. Enjoy all your new books and I hope it doesn’t rain too much. Feel free to send some our way. Have a great week. 😁📚💖👦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have posted my Goodreads.com review Carla, it’s a five star read. Yes, I’m tired of Covid too but, like you, I still take precautions. The weather forecast for the foreseeable future is 🌧☔🌧☔🌧☔🌧☔🌧☔🌧☔ But it is winter. I’ll parcel some up and send you. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I will check out your review, Sandy. We have a sleight chance of rain on Wednesday, so I will wait and see. I guess for you, rain is better than snow. Have a good week.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment