The Devil’s Work by Mark Edwards

The Devil's Work by Mark  Edwards
The Devil’s Work
by Mark Edwards (Goodreads Author)
reviewed by


Picture this: it is a warm and sunny late winters afternoon and I am curled up in the sunshine reading the final 20% of The Devil’s Work by Mark Edwards. A gentle breeze stirs the curtain and the edge caresses my neck. I shriek. Leaping from the chair I drop my Kindle and spin around to see who is going to strangle me.

It happened.

Seldom have I ever had such a strong physical reaction to a book. Mark Edwards had my heart pounding and my imagination working overtime. He even disturbed my sleep. Hence I am up writing this review at 2.30 am instead of battling sleep filled with menace and shadowy figures.

THE BLURB
It was the job she had dreamed of since childhood. But on her very first day, when an unnerving encounter drags up memories Sophie Greenwood would rather forget, she wonders if she has made a mistake. A fatal mistake.

What is her ambitious young assistant really up to? And what exactly happened to Sophie’s predecessor? When her husband and daughter are pulled into the nightmare, Sophie is forced to confront the darkest secrets she has carried for years.

As her life begins to fall apart at work and at home, Sophie must race to uncover the truth about her new job…before it kills her.

Mark Edwards has done a superb job with both his characterisation and the plot. Written over two timelines, the years 2000 and 2012, he cleverly intertwines the stories to create the maximum suspense and suspicion. He even had me suspecting peripheral characters!

This is not the first book I have read by this author, but it is definitely the best.

Thank you to Thomas and Mercer via Netgalley for providing a digital copy of The Devil’s Work by Mark Edwards for review. All opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own. Please refer to my Goodreads.com profile page for an explanation of my ratings. This and other of my reviews can also be viewed at https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2101128986?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1

Author: sandysbookaday

I love good quality chocolate. I love the ocean and love to be in, on or beside it. I read any and every where. I am a proud mum and Nana. I like wine, gin, Southern Comfort, a cold Heineken on a hot day. I am very versatile like that. I cross stitch, do jigsaws, garden, and work on a farm. I am an occasional scribbler. I have far too many books I want to read to ever find the time to die. I am an active member of Goodreads as Sandy *the world could end while I was reading and I would never notice* and review on Amazon under the name Sandyj21. My Goodreads reviews are automatically linked to my Facebook page. Groups I belong to and participate in on Goodreads include: The Mystery, Crime and Thriller Group; Mysteries and Crime Thrillers; Psychological Thrillers; Reading for Pleasure; Crime Detective Mystery Thrillers; English Mysteries; Dead Good Crime; Kindle English Mystery, All About Books and NZ Readers. April 2016 I made the Top 1% of Goodreads reviewers (As follows) Hello Sandy *The world could end while I was reading and I would never notice*, In our community of readers, you stand out in a notable way: You're one of the top 1% of reviewers on Goodreads! With every rave and every pan, with every excited GIF and every critical assessment, you've helped the Goodreads community get closer to a very important milestone – the 50 Million Reviews mark!

Leave a comment