Aunt Bessie Believes by Diana Xarissa

Aunt Bessie Believes by Diana Xarissa
Reviewed by

30817744


EXCERPT: Bessie never minded not having children of her own. Instead she had happily taken on the role of honorary maiden aunt to just about every child in Laxey. Once those children reached school age, parents could count on every one of them running away to ‘Aunt Bessie’s’ at least once in a while. Bessie usually had biscuits, frequently had cake and usually had a sympathetic ear for children who felt misunderstood or under-appreciated at home.

In all her years of opening her door to the neighborhood children, there had only ever been one child that she had ever asked to leave. Disagreeable and difficult even as a teen, Moirrey Teare had never forgiven Bessie for the slight, a fact that bothered Bessie not even the tiniest bit.

ABOUT THIS BOOK: Aunt Bessie believes that Moirrey Teare is just about the most disagreeable woman she’s ever had the misfortune to meet.

Elizabeth Cubbon, (Aunt Bessie to nearly everyone), is somewhere past sixty, and old enough to ignore the rude woman that does her best to ruin the first session of the beginning Manx language class they are both taking. Moirrey’s sudden death is harder to ignore.

Aunt Bessie believes that Moirrey’s death was the result of the heart condition that Moirrey always complained about.

The police investigation, however, suggests that someone switched some of the dead woman’s essential medications for something far more deadly.

Aunt Bessie believes that she and her friends can find the killer.

But with Doona suspended from work and spending all of her time with the dead woman’s long-lost brother, Hugh caught up in a brand new romance and Inspector Rockwell chasing after a man that might not even exist, Bessie finds herself believing that someone might just get away with murder.

MY THOUGHTS: I discovered Aunt Bessie last year when I needed an author whose surname began with an X for an Author’s Alphabet Challenge. I purchased Aunt Bessie Assumes, and enjoyed it so much that I went straight on to read the second book in the series, Aunt Bessie Believes.

I love the characters of Aunt Bessie and Doona. They are good friends who spend a great deal of time together, but still live their separate lives. They have an insatiable curiosity, great senses of humour and a wonderful appreciation of food. Plus they ascribe to my belief that chocolate makes everything better!

I had the solution to this mystery figured out early on, but only because I thought ‘If I was the author, who would I make guilty and how?’ I was not always convinced that I was right. . .

3.5 stars. This was actually a 4-star read, but I deducted 0.5 of a star for a technical error. I will be reading more of this delightful series suitable for fans of M. C. Beaton and Christie’s Miss Marple.

All opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own personal opinions. Please refer to my Goodreads.com profile page or the ‘about’ page on sandysbookaday.wordpress.com for an explanation of my rating system.

This review and others are also published on my Goodreads.com page https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2045823011

Author: sandysbookaday

I love good quality chocolate. I love the ocean and love to be in, on or beside it. I read any and every where. I am a proud mum and Nana. I like wine, gin, Southern Comfort, a cold Heineken on a hot day. I am very versatile like that. I cross stitch, do jigsaws, garden, and work on a farm. I am an occasional scribbled. I have far too many books I want to read to ever find the time to die. I am an active member of Goodreads as Sandy *the world could end while I was reading and I would never notice* and review on Amazon under the name Sandyj21. My Goodreads reviews are automatically linked to my Facebook page. Groups I belong to and participate in on Goodreads include: The Mystery, Crime and Thriller Group; Mysteries and Crime Thrillers; Psychological Thrillers; Reading for Pleasure; Crime Detective Mystery Thrillers; English Mysteries; Dead Good Crime; Kindle English Mystery, All About Books and NZ Readers. April 2016 I made the Top 1% of Goodreads reviewers (As follows) Hello Sandy *The world could end while I was reading and I would never notice*, In our community of readers, you stand out in a notable way: You're one of the top 1% of reviewers on Goodreads! With every rave and every pan, with every excited GIF and every critical assessment, you've helped the Goodreads community get closer to a very important milestone – the 50 Million Reviews mark!

2 thoughts on “Aunt Bessie Believes by Diana Xarissa”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: