My Mother the Liar by Ann Troup

My Mother the Liar by Ann Troup
My Mother the Liar 
by Ann Troup

30817744
Reviewed by


EXCERPT: ‘So Roy got killed and stuffed in a box in the shed. What about the other one, Rachel? Has your family found an even more effective way of disposing of their unwanted children? Rather than just abandon them without a word, kill them off and hide the bodies? Gruesome but efficient I must say. ‘

THE BLURB: Every family has its secrets…

From the author of The Lost Child, and The Forgotten Room. Perfect for fans of The Secret Mother and Linda Green.

Two dead bodies. A lifetime of secrets.

When Rachel Porter’s estranged mother dies, she returns to her family home filled with dread about having to face her past, and the people who populated it.

Little does she know that there are dead bodies waiting to be discovered, and a lifetime of secrets are about to untangle.

Secrets kept by her mother, the liar.

MY THOUGHTS: I loved the cover of My Mother the Liar by Ann Troup, and the premise of the story. Unfortunately, that was all. I abandoned this book at the 37% mark, finally unable to force, bribe or cajole myself to read one more page.

I didn’t like the writing style. It was ‘heavy handed’ and riddled with cliches. Repetitive. Disjointed. I, personally, don’t like to be ‘told’ what is happening. I want to feel like I am right there, in the midst of it all, the fly on the wall. I certainly didn’t have that experience here.

I don’t like to dnf books, because I appreciate all the effort, the emotion, the sacrifice that goes into writing one. But My Mother the Liar defeated me.

Just becauseI didn’t enjoy this book, doesn’t mean that you won’t. If you enjoyed the excerpt and like the sound of the blurb, please go ahead and get a copy to read. You may well be one of the many who love My Mother the Liar. It just wasn’t for me.

Thank you to HQ Digital via Netgalley for providing a digital copy of My Mother the Liar by Ann Troup for review. All opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own personal opinions.

Please refer to my Goodreads.com profile page or the ‘about’ page on sandysbookaday.wordpress.com for an explanation of my rating system.

This review and others are also published on myGoodreads.com page https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2291630427

Author: sandysbookaday

I love good quality chocolate. I love the ocean and love to be in, on or beside it. I read any and every where. I am a proud mum and Nana. I like wine, gin, Southern Comfort, a cold Heineken on a hot day. I am very versatile like that. I cross stitch, do jigsaws, garden, and work on a farm. I am an occasional scribbled. I have far too many books I want to read to ever find the time to die. I am an active member of Goodreads as Sandy *the world could end while I was reading and I would never notice* and review on Amazon under the name Sandyj21. My Goodreads reviews are automatically linked to my Facebook page. Groups I belong to and participate in on Goodreads include: The Mystery, Crime and Thriller Group; Mysteries and Crime Thrillers; Psychological Thrillers; Reading for Pleasure; Crime Detective Mystery Thrillers; English Mysteries; Dead Good Crime; Kindle English Mystery, All About Books and NZ Readers. April 2016 I made the Top 1% of Goodreads reviewers (As follows) Hello Sandy *The world could end while I was reading and I would never notice*, In our community of readers, you stand out in a notable way: You're one of the top 1% of reviewers on Goodreads! With every rave and every pan, with every excited GIF and every critical assessment, you've helped the Goodreads community get closer to a very important milestone – the 50 Million Reviews mark!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s