Crossed Out by Malcolm Hollingdrake

Crossed Out by Malcolm Hollingdrake
Crossed Out (DCI Bennett Book 6) 
by Malcolm Hollingdrake (Goodreads Author)

30817744


EXCERPT: . . . once he had fully comprehended what was said and what was happening, (he) was about to protest again but the unseen, first flush of fluid had hit him in the face. His vision suddenly blurred and turned an opaque yellow as the acid started to destroy his eyes. It filled his mouth, numbing and swelling his tongue. What suddenly became apparent was the smell, the smell he could not identify but in fact was the stench of melting flesh. All that could be heard was a gurgled scream as his face began to burn, blister and melt. The rain on the roof had been drowned out. As the first liquid burned, his hand frantically rubbed his eyes trying to clear away the liquid but to no avail, they too simply began to slough and blister. The pain was so intense that he did not feel the second liquid strike as it was poured specifically over his exposed genitals and thighs. It would be the final act against (him); it was all that would be needed.

THE BLURB: DCI Bennett and his team are back and called to a house in Ripon that has collapsed into a sinkhole where a body is discovered.

Soon old weathered Remembrance Crosses are found dug up. Each one numbered.

DC April Richmond is assigned to help the team due to her impressive biblical knowledge and soon makes a startling discovery.

Meanwhile, Gideon Fletcher is walking around the streets of Harrogate distributing religious texts. Is there a link between Gideon and the crosses? Do the crosses have anything to do with the body in the house?

Bennett and the team find themselves wondering if the killer is exacting revenge or punishment and whatever the answer, they soon realise the clock is ticking.

Crossed Out is an intricate and gripping crime thriller from the best-selling DCI Bennett Series. It can easily be read as a stand-alone novel and will appeal to fans of authors like Joy Ellis, Faith Martin, LJ Ross & Angela Marsons.

MY THOUGHTS: It’s complex. But oh so interesting!

Crossed Out by Malcolm Hollingdrake is the sixth in the DCI Bennett series. Although I have read none of the series previously, it didn’t take me long to find my feet with the characters. Bennett is somewhat OCD, a neat freak with trust issues. He dresses nicely and has a passion for good manners. If this makes him sound ‘prissy’, I can assure you he is not.

His sidekick, David Owen, is somewhat his opposite, scattering crumbs and wiping his nose on his sleeve. Yet despite their differences, they have a healthy respect and honest liking for one another.

The characters are all well developed and fill a role in the plot. A new character, April Redmond, is brought into the team in this book. And some of Bennett’s previously concealed past is revealed. There is a little romantic interest, but at no point does it overshadow the true purpose of the book.

There are a few references to occurrences in the previous books, but nothing that is not adequately explained. Although this may be read as a stand-alone, I would recommend starting at the beginning of the series in order to reap the greatest enjoyment.

All in all, a very rewarding read, one that is tempting me to go back to the beginning of the series and read them in order. A very solid ☆☆☆☆.

Thank you to Bloodhound Books via Netgalley for providing a digital copy of Crossed Out by Malcolm Hollingdrake for review. All opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own personal opinions.

Please refer to my Goodreads.com profile page or the ‘about’ page on sandysbookaday.wordpress.com for an explanation of my rating system. This review and others are also published on my Goodreads.com page https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2260896319

Author: sandysbookaday

I love good quality chocolate. I love the ocean and love to be in, on or beside it. I read any and every where. I am a proud mum and Nana. I like wine, gin, Southern Comfort, a cold Heineken on a hot day. I am very versatile like that. I cross stitch, do jigsaws, garden, and work on a farm. I am an occasional scribbled. I have far too many books I want to read to ever find the time to die. I am an active member of Goodreads as Sandy *the world could end while I was reading and I would never notice* and review on Amazon under the name Sandyj21. My Goodreads reviews are automatically linked to my Facebook page. Groups I belong to and participate in on Goodreads include: The Mystery, Crime and Thriller Group; Mysteries and Crime Thrillers; Psychological Thrillers; Reading for Pleasure; Crime Detective Mystery Thrillers; English Mysteries; Dead Good Crime; Kindle English Mystery, All About Books and NZ Readers. April 2016 I made the Top 1% of Goodreads reviewers (As follows) Hello Sandy *The world could end while I was reading and I would never notice*, In our community of readers, you stand out in a notable way: You're one of the top 1% of reviewers on Goodreads! With every rave and every pan, with every excited GIF and every critical assessment, you've helped the Goodreads community get closer to a very important milestone – the 50 Million Reviews mark!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s