The First One to Die by Victoria Jenkins

The First One To Die by Victoria Jenkins
Reviewed by

30817744


EXCERPT: She felt him behind her, then everything happened so quickly. A hand touched her back for the briefest of moments before a firm shove sent her flailing from the ledge. She tried to break her fall,twisting desperately through the air, but there was nothing to catch hold of, nothing with which she could stop herself.

A single scream cut through the night air.

THE BLURB: Four friends. A house full of secrets. And a killer picking them off one by one…

She tried to break her fall, twisting desperately, but there was nothing to catch hold of, nothing with which she could stop herself. Her single scream cut through the night air.

Keira North falls to her death at a party. It initially seems like an accident, but Detectives Alex King and Chloe Lane suspect foul play: they are convinced they are dealing with a murder.

When the detectives start to investigate, they soon find that all of Keira’s closest friends have secrets that someone might kill to keep.

And as Alex and Chloe are fighting their own demons and struggling to stay on top of the case, Keira’s killer is circling the group of friends, who one by one find that their lives are in danger…

The First One to Die is a heart-stopping and shocking detective thriller that will have you gripped until the very last page. Perfect for fans of Patricia Gibney, Angela Marsons, and Val McDermid.

MY THOUGHTS: I just loved the plot, although as I was reading, I felt that it went a little overboard in places. However, once all was revealed, it made perfect sense. There are plenty of twists and turns, and no shortage of suspects. There is a good balance between the investigative story and the characters private lives.

So, I can hear you thinking, why only 3 stars? I liked this book, but I didn’t love it or even like it greatly. I didn’t find it anywhere near heart-stopping, nor was it shocking. And no, I wasn’t gripped. It was an adequate read, but that was all.

I found the writing mostly flat. Occasionally there would be a brief flirting with suspense, but it wasn’t maintained. Also it seemed that large tracts of text were repeated, like the author didn’t want you to forget certain things about the characters. And in these places, I skimmed. And the characters? I felt nothing for any of them. I just could not get involved in this read.

Would I read more from this series? Probably not.

Thank you to Bookouture via Netgalley for providing a digital copy of The First One to Die by Victoria Jenkins. All opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own personal opinions. So if you enjoyed the excerpt and like the sound of the blurb, please go ahead and read The First One to Die, and be sure to let me know how you feel about it. Please refer to my Goodreads.com profile page or the ‘about’ page on sandysbookaday.wordpress.com for an explanation of my rating system. This review and others are also published on my Goodreads.com page https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2256810485

Author: sandysbookaday

I love good quality chocolate. I love the ocean and love to be in, on or beside it. I read any and every where. I am a proud mum and Nana. I like wine, gin, Southern Comfort, a cold Heineken on a hot day. I am very versatile like that. I cross stitch, do jigsaws, garden, and work on a farm. I am an occasional scribbled. I have far too many books I want to read to ever find the time to die. I am an active member of Goodreads as Sandy *the world could end while I was reading and I would never notice* and review on Amazon under the name Sandyj21. My Goodreads reviews are automatically linked to my Facebook page. Groups I belong to and participate in on Goodreads include: The Mystery, Crime and Thriller Group; Mysteries and Crime Thrillers; Psychological Thrillers; Reading for Pleasure; Crime Detective Mystery Thrillers; English Mysteries; Dead Good Crime; Kindle English Mystery, All About Books and NZ Readers. April 2016 I made the Top 1% of Goodreads reviewers (As follows) Hello Sandy *The world could end while I was reading and I would never notice*, In our community of readers, you stand out in a notable way: You're one of the top 1% of reviewers on Goodreads! With every rave and every pan, with every excited GIF and every critical assessment, you've helped the Goodreads community get closer to a very important milestone – the 50 Million Reviews mark!

One thought on “The First One to Die by Victoria Jenkins”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s